This post describes movement rule of shogi.
A Player cannot Move a Piece to a Square Another Piece of the Player is on
A king can move to an adjacent square in any directions as shown in the lower figure.
However, a player cannot move the piece to a square another piece of the player is on as shown in the lower figure.
A Player can Move a Piece to a Square a Piece of the other Player is on
A player can move a piece to a square a piece of the other player is on. Then the player captures the piece of the other player. The captured piece is removed from the board and is placed on the capturing player's piece stand. A captured piece is called "piece(s) in hand"
As shown in the lower figure, the king can move to an adjacent square in any directions, though other pieces are next to the king.
Then, if the king moves one square straight backward as shown in the lower figure, the lance is captured and moves to the piece stand. The lance is retained in hand.
Can a Piece Jump over Another Piece?
In Case of a Rook, a Bishop or a Lance
A rook, a bishop or a lance cannot jump over anothor piece as shown in the lower figures.
In Case of a Knight
A knight can jump over other pieces as shown in the lower figure. The knight is the only piece that ignores other pieces on the way to its destination.